Swimming with Dolphins in Punta Cana

I love animal interactions, so everywhere I go, I want to do them! The very first time I went swimming with dolphins was at the Dolphin Explorer, in Punta Cana. It was the best one out of the 3 I’ve done. Let me tell you why.

I had already gone to Atlantis, in Nassau to do the Dolphin Encounter, but I could only see and touch them for about 5min with only my feet touching the water… So, when I went to Punta Cana with my dad, one of the things I wanted to do was to really SWIM with dolphins!

The Dolphin Explorer complex has a lot of programs, where you can swim with rays, dolphins, seals, and sharks. I did only the Dolphin one and got kissed by a fur seal…

3386_387140894692524_488009136_n

The place is pretty big and has a good structure to accomodate everyone and it’s possible to see that the animals are taken care of pretty well.

To swim with them, you go to a locker area, so that you can change and put on a swimsuit (optional, but I was on my period, so I did it for my safety), then you go to a platform and walk for a while before you get to the Dolphin section (which is the biggest one, by far). Then, you have some security info and get into the water.

dolphin-explorer 

They’ll make the animals do a lot of tricks and in the meanwhile, they take a bunch of pictures of you and your group (be prepared, they are expensive!). I loved the experience and have to say it was the best experience I’ve had with dolphins. At the Mirage in Las Vegas I payed way too much to be a Trainer for a Day and didn’t have nearly the same amount of fun and time with the animals.

262373_387141308025816_567064638_n

In terms of money, it can be expensive depending on your currancy, but I believe it’s worth paying, since you can really get the most of it.

It’s my favorite thing to do in Punta Cana and I recommend it for everyone, from couples to families with kids, or just friends looking for a good time!

That’s it for today’s post. I hope you have liked it and, if I have forgotten anything about the place, or you know a better one to swim with dolphins, or have any questions, please tell me in the comments bellow! I’ll love to answer you!

Leave a Reply

