A day at Disneyland Paris

Today’s post is about the parisian version of the happiest place on earth! I spent my last full day in Paris at the park formerly known as Eurodisney. I had already been to the Orlando parks, and, honestly, I was surprised on how amazing the ones in Paris are.

I’m going to start talking about practical info and then we go to the fun stuff.

DSCN9513.JPG

Price

We went at special time when adults and childrens pay the same price, so check carefully the day you want to go at the website to make sure you’re not paying too much. We payed 63 euros per person, but we could have payed 48 euros per person or 72 euros per person if we had went on different dates.

Usually Disney has these promotions with special prices from time to time, including the holliday period.

Transportation

A big worry for everyone is how to get there, but relax, you have a lot of options and all of them are really easy!

First of all, you can go by RER, which is the cheapest, easiest way. The RER is nothing more than an intercity subway. To go to Disneyland, you only have to go to one of the many stops of the line A of the RER that lead to Marne-la-Vallée/ Chessy Station. There’s even a Mickey Mouse head besides the name in every sign, just to make it easier.

You’ll leave at the end of the line. Don’t worry about getting lost when you leave, because you can literaly see the entrance from the station. I think is less than 1 min walking.

You can use a navigo card to get there and return. A navigo card, for those who don’t know, is your best friend when in Paris. You can ilimited travels with every transportation from RATP (subway, RER, bus, …) in the entire île-de-france. I’ve made a lot of travels with it. Check the navigo prices here.

You can also go with your own car (there’s plenty of space at the parking lot) or take the “Magical Shuttle”. There are direct and regular departures from Paris Charles de Gaulle and Orly airports (approximately 60 minutes), and the Disney Hotels (except Disney’s Davy Crockett Ranch).

Bookings can be made up to two days before the departure date (costs extra to receive the Magical Shuttle voucher by post) and you can book it on the telephone +33 1 60 30 60 53 or on this website.

You can see all of these options and more here.

Now for the fun part!

It was a very emotional day for me since I was leaving Paris after 6 months and to spend it with my family was truly special.

Click here to check my blog about moving to Paris!

A imagem pode conter: 3 pessoas, pessoas sorrindo, céu e atividades ao ar livre

It’s not as huge as the ones in Orlando, but it’s actually better. Not only is more beautiful, but cozier. You get to easily see an entire park in one day and really enjoy everything.

2018 is the 25th anniversary of the Disneyland Paris, so you can see special details everywhere.

DSCN9698.JPG

Now let’s talk about the castle! WHAT A CASTLE! You can actually do things inside of it!

When you enter, you see a store and stairs. if you go up the stairs, you can see things related to the tale of the princess, which includes a screen that changes between a rose and pigeons. Look for that, it’s beautiful.

DSCN9744      DSCN9745

The vitrals are as impecable as you’d imagine and the entire floor leads you to a door to a balcony. There, you can see the park from above and appreciate how it looks like a medieval fairytale village.

A imagem pode conter: 1 pessoa, sorrindo, céu e atividades ao ar livre

While we’re at the castle, let me tell you something I only found out after I left the park.

Before you enter the castle, look to your left. You’ll see the entrance to a place under the castle. There, you will find… THE DRAGON’S LAIR! YES! THERE’S A REAL ANIMATRONIC DRAGON UNDER THE CASTLE!

First of all, it is scary as hell, so be careful to take your kids there (on the disney website it is said this attraction “may FRIGHTEN younger guests”!!!), but do not hesitate on going yourself! It’s amazing and I regret not going.

I’ve found a video that shows exactly how it is the dragon’s lair! Check bellow.

Then we went into Frontierland, where we had a ride at the Thunder Mesa Riverboat. It was really nice, a good ride seeing the mountain in the middle of the river and cute details on land.

DSCN9634.JPG

DSCN9614.JPG

After the ride, we walked around for a while until we got to the futuristic section of the park, where I was searching the meet and greet with DARTH VADER!

DSCN9640.JPG
On the way to the Meet and Greet, I found this cute statue of these two!

There are 3 attractions Star Wars themed. One is a meet and greet with Darth Vader, the other one is a roller coaster and the third one a simulator. I only went to the meet and greet.

A imagem pode conter: 1 pessoa, sorrindo, em pé

At 5h30 in the afternoon, there’s a parade called Stars on Parade. There, you can see all your favorite characters on beautiful cars going from the end of the park, passing by the main square, going all the way through the main street and ending at the entrance of the park.

DSCN9697.JPG

The day we were there was very hot, so we looked for a good spot with shade and a bench or chair where my grandma could sit. Since it was almost time for the parade to start, the best places were already taken. But we still managed to get a good place.

The first store of the main street had a nice shade with view of the parade and castle, but no place to sit.

A imagem pode conter: uma ou mais pessoas, multidão, céu e atividades ao ar livre

DSCN9680.JPG

A imagem pode conter: 3 pessoas, pessoas sorrindo, sapatos, multidão, céu e atividades ao ar livre

After the parade, I saw something quite interesting. There was this bag on the floor and disney staff around it making sure no one would go near the bag. After a couple minutes, I heard this woman telling the staff the bag was left unnatended by her daughter who ran to see the parade. No one was allowed to touch or go near the bag until the anti-bombing squad arrived with a dog who smelled the bag and cleared it. After that, the squad inspectioned every item in the bag to then release it to the family waiting.

It was a bit of a scary momment, but it made me feel a lot safer to see their procedures in action.

Since we didn’t have much time left, we went into Fantasyland, because I wanted to see Alice’s Curious Labirinth! It’s a beautiful maze that gives you the feeling of being lost at the Queen’s maze! Not only you get to see the cute characters in situations of the movie, but you can feel what it’s like to be lost WITHOUT BEEN LOST! You just have to follow the path and eventually you find the way out. There’s even a castle in the center, where you can go up and see the entire maze and a lot of the park!

DSCN9796.JPG

DSCN9791.JPG

DSCN9799.JPG

Disclaimer: if you have panic sydrome or claustrophobia, DO NOT GO INTO THE LABIRINTH! You WILL feel like you’re trapped and lost (even if you aren’t).

As it wouldn’t be a Disney Park, there’s a firework castle show at the end of the day, called Disney Illuminations Show. I honestly don’t know if during winter is different, but in the summer, the show started at 11pm, when the sun got down, since it depends on the sky being dark. We found a bench right in front of the castle at around 7h30pm and that’s where we stayed until 9pm, when some staff came and asked us to leave that bench…

Now, we found out that area is closed at 9pm and the only people allowed in are those with a green card that assures you are handicap. I had never even heard of this card, but I was really pissed off about being asked to leave that spot, specially because there were no signs letting me know that the area would be closed. If there was at least one (or a warnning on the map) we would not have stayed there in the first place.

Long story short, I explainned what happened to one of the staff and my grandmother was allowed to stay inside, seated on a bench that was on the limit of the closed area and we stayed right beside her, but on the outside. The important part is that she was seated with a good view of the show.

The show itself it’s amazing! I’m not going to post a photo nor video, for spoiler reasons. It’s incredibly beautiful. I saw a mix of every important movie of the Disney World, including a certain space saga!

A imagem pode conter: céu e atividades ao ar livre

At the end of the night, while everyone’s leaving, Mickey himself is at the front door, saying his goodbyes. We were in such a rush, I was not able to take a good picture of him… But you can check it out on my instagram! By the way, get the oportunity to follow me! I’m always posting photos of my adventures and giving travelling tips!

One special detail I think is important to say is that they created a space where you can get the feeling of Disney World in Orlando, but in a cozier way. Not only inside the parks, but at the entire Disneyland. For example, when you’re leaving, you pass through an area called Disney Village that really resembles Downtown Disney, with bars and movies theaters, etc. I love it!

Something I did not have the pleasure of doing is visiting the Studios Park, where they have Gousteau’s restaurant from Ratatouille (Bistrot chez Remy)!!

I’m actually sad I did not do my homework before going to Disneyland Paris. There are so many walkthroughs I did not see! I was watching youtube when I bumped into this video below and I couldn’t it recommend to you more!

This is it for this post. Thank you for reading! I hope to have helped you with your trip to Disneyland Paris! If you have any questions or anything else you’d like to say, please tell me in the comments bellow and I’ll answer them!

See you in the next post!


Leave a comment